top of page

Sanskrit is primarily a language, the transmission of which is still partially oral, and was written only relatively late in history. The term “Sanskrit” means “perfected”. Samskrta means put together (sam – together, krta – put). Sanskrit is divided into two principal parts: Vedic Sanskrit and Classical Sanskrit. The older language is Vedic Sanskrit, or Vedic, the language of the Samhita and Brahmana, the two principal parts of the Veda. Vedic Sanskrit begins with Rig Veda. Classical Sanskrit which includes several aspects is the language of the Bhagavad Gita, Ramayana, and the rest of the Sanskrit literature.

  • Basic course of Sanskrit

bottom of page